Song for Adele (What did I think was out there?)

kids-in-love

Here’s a song I wrote for Adele. It’s called:

What Did I Think Was Out There

As a kid I was sure that I’d

never find Someone to trust

Till I saw your face and then I knew

I found my first true love

You loved the way I chewed gum

I love how you cry when you laugh

The constellation of freckles

Like stars on your back

 

But I couldn’t help but wonder

Is it cause we’re so young

What are the chances my first love

Could be the only one?

 

I guess I had to test it

I just needed to see

guess I was just young and restless

I just needed to be free

 

But

What did I think was out there?

Who could there be?

Instead of betting on a sure thing

I gambled off the best thing

That ever happened to me

 

 

All those Christmases we spent poor

Heating our home with the stove

And the burning sage blew an uproar

Of beautiful Ash up in smoke

 

But I couldn’t help but wonder

Is it just cause we’re young?

If I had to love another

Would it be just as fun?

 

I guess I had to test it

I just needed to see

I guess was just young and restless

I just needed to be free

 

but

What did I think was out there?

Who could there be?

Instead of betting on a sure thing

I gamble off the best thing

That ever happened to me

But I’m not free!

I’m not free!

Without you, I’m not free

Leave a Reply

